SEC Grants 5-Year Exemption for Tokenized Stock Trading
The SEC's Innovation Exemption gives tokenized securities venues five years of conditional relief from exchange registration, effective Sept. 17, 2026.
Summarize with
Prompt · remember Payney
Five years is the life span of the conditional relief the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission handed tokenized stock trading venues on Sept. 17, 2026, in an order the agency calls the "Innovation Exemption." CNBC reported the order took effect immediately, and Quartz reported the exemptions expire five years after publication.
What the SEC actually granted
According to the SEC's press release of Sept. 17, 2026, the Commission issued an order granting temporary, conditional exemptive relief to "Tokenized Securities Venues" (TSVs) from the definition of "exchange" in the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, so they can trade tokenized National Market System (NMS) stock using permissioned automated market makers and liquidity pools. An automated market maker is software that prices trades against a pool of assets rather than matching individual buy and sell orders in an order book.
Quartz reported that the order also grants a conditional exemption from the "dealer" definition to liquidity providers that supply tokenized NMS stock using their own capital in those pools, and that platforms which believe they meet the SEC's definition need only notify the agency before starting operations. CoinDesk reported the SEC explicitly excluded synthetic security tokens that are derivatives and do not convey ownership: only tokens representing real ownership of the underlying stock qualify, and Chairman Paul Atkins said holders must receive the same rights and privileges as holders of the traditional securities.
In his statement quoted by the SEC, Atkins framed the move as bringing "America's capital markets into the digital age." Jamie Selway, director of the SEC's Division of Trading and Markets, called the order a milestone for the Commission's tokenized-securities work. Commissioner Mark Uyeda, quoted by Cointelegraph, said the framework "is designed to be controlled" and that symbol and volume limits will apply.
The conditions attached
The SEC's release lists the conditions, and they are the substance of the order:
- Caps: limits on the number of symbols and the volume traded on a TSV.
- Equivalent rights: the venue must verify that a tokenized NMS stock gives holders the same rights and privileges as traditional NMS stock of an equivalent class.
- Issuer objection: before listing a stock tokenized by an unaffiliated third party, the TSV must give the issuer written notice and an opportunity to object. Quartz reported the venue must then wait 30 days; that waiting period does not appear in the SEC's own press release.
- Open code: smart contracts must be auditable, public and deployed on a public, permissionless distributed ledger.
- Synchronized halts: a TSV must stop trading a token when the underlying stock is halted on its primary listing exchange.
- Disclosure: public notice of the venue's operations and trading activity, including the trading activity of its affiliates. Cointelegraph reported, citing Uyeda, that venues must regularly publish dollar-denominated transaction data including prices, trade sizes, timestamps, pool addresses, end-of-day pool sizes and daily volumes.
The key figures
| Metric | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Length of relief | 5 years from publication of the order | Quartz |
| Effective date | Sept. 17, 2026, immediately on issuance | CNBC |
| Tokenized stock market capitalization | $486.69 million as of March 31, 2026 (from $2.09 million on June 30, 2025) | CoinGecko RWA Report 2026 |
| Tokenized stock spot trading | $15.1 billion in Q1 2026, versus $14.8 billion in H2 2025 | CoinGecko RWA Report 2026 |
| Top five tokenized equities vs. traditional venues | Less than 1% of total trading volume on traditional stock markets | CoinGecko RWA Report 2026 |
| Numeric symbol and volume caps | Not specified in the SEC press release | SEC |
How to read these numbers, and what is still missing
The scale comparison matters more than the growth rate. CoinGecko's RWA Report 2026 records tokenized stock market capitalization rising from $2.09 million at the end of June 2025 to $486.69 million on March 31, 2026, with Circle the largest single name at $171.39 million, or 35.2% of the category. In the same report, spot trading of tokenized stocks reached $15.1 billion in the first quarter of 2026, exceeding the $14.8 billion traded across the whole of the second half of 2025. Those are different measures: market capitalization is a stock of value at a point in time, quarterly spot volume is a flow, and the two cannot be added or compared directly. CoinGecko's own conclusion is the useful one — trading in the top five tokenized equities remained under 1% of volume on traditional stock markets. Note also that those figures predate the order by roughly six months and describe products that were not trading under this exemption.
Several things the order's practical effect depends on are not public in the material reviewed here. The SEC's release states that symbol and volume limits apply but does not give the numeric levels, so it is not possible to say how large a tokenized market this permits. No venue has been confirmed as having filed the required notice, so the exemption's availability is not the same as a live product a reader can use. The deadline for public comments was not stated in the release. And because relief from the "exchange" and "dealer" definitions is relief from registration, not from the antifraud provisions or from the issuer's own reporting duties, it does not follow that a tokenized share carries the clearing, settlement and surveillance arrangements attached to trading on a registered exchange. The order's requirement that tokens convey the same rights as ordinary shares is a condition the venue must verify, not an independent guarantee a buyer can observe on-chain.
What comes next
The SEC is taking public comment on the order, including data, case studies and information from live or test environments, according to its release and Cointelegraph. Atkins said the exemption "must be followed by durable rulemaking to ensure that onchain markets remain a viable pathway," as reported by CoinDesk, which also noted the agency proposed an overhaul of transfer-agent rules on Sept. 1, 2026 accommodating blockchain-based recordkeeping of securities ownership. CoinDesk reported the order followed the Senate's failure earlier that week to advance the Clarity Act, after which Atkins said on X that the agency would act within its statutory authority. The two dated markers to watch are the comment file, which will show which exchanges, issuers and platforms object and on what grounds, and the five-year clock from publication, which is the deadline for any permanent rule to replace the exemption.
- SEC Issues "Innovation Exemption" to Facilitate the Trading of Tokenized NMS Stock and Request for Comment · U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
- SEC rolls out 'innovation exemption' for tokenized securities trading venues · CoinDesk
- SEC clears path for tokenized stocks, bringing the market closer to 24/7 trading · CNBC
- SEC issues innovation exemption for tokenized stock trading · Quartz
- SEC Approves Innovation Exemption for Tokenized Stocks · Cointelegraph
- RWA Report 2026 · CoinGecko
Sources used during research. Check their dates and original context before relying on a figure. How we report.